Monday, September 1, 2008

New Westerberg MP3 Download: "3oclockreep"

Meant to post this here when I posted it on the main site on Wedensday and just plumb spaced and then it was the 3 day weekend, and here we are. If you haven't read it on the main site or via email yet, Paul posted a new MP3 download called "3oclockreep". See artwork below. GtrPlyr has kindly posted some CD-sized artwork on the message board.

You can download the album "3oclockreep" for $3.99, and that includes a 20 minute track called "3oclockreep" and a 3 minute track called "Finally Here Once". They are also available as individual downloads ("3oclockreep" for $3.00 and "Finally Here Once" for $0.99).

Thanks to Hide n'Lurkin on the message board for breaking down the content of the "3oclockreep" track, which includes about 10 minutes of outtakes from Tom Waits in the studio with the Mats, circa 1989. This session produced "Date To Church", which appeared on a Sire CD sampler called "Just Say Mao" in 1989, part of their
"Just Say Yes" series. And it will be included on the upcoming Sire reissue of "Don't Tell A Soul" (out in just a few short weeks!)

"3oclockreep" (Approx. song title/length):

01 Tell 'Em All, Go to Hell 2:49
02 Mash of Outtakes 0:44
03 It's Ridiculous, Everybody Wants to Be Famous 2:53
04 Only Excuse Is 2:15
05 You're Still Mine 1:05
06 If Only You Were Lonely [Mats in Studio with Tom Waits] 1:00
07 Studio Ramblings [Mats in Studio with Tom Waits] 1:15
08 We Know the Night [Mats in Studio with Tom Waits] 3:06
09 Lowdown Monkey Blues [Mats in Studio with Tom Waits] 5:08

A couple of mentions of the new releases, on Stereogum ("Paul Westerberg Offers More Oddly Priced Downloadable Music") and PopCandy.

I mentioned awhile back that Glen Campbell was covering "Sadly Beautiful" on his new covers album and that album is out. If you want to take a listen to a snippet of the sing, you can do that on Amazon. He also covers "These Days" by Jackson Browne, which Paul also covered on CFMT. In Mats news, Filter magazine ran a godo feature on them, with interviews, back in May when the first batch of reissues came out. The article and the interview they did with Paul is up on their web site now, definitely worth reading.